Who may currently visit the U.S. as a tourist (during Covid-19)?

While it may feel like all the world’s borders are shut, that is not the case. Currently, the U.S. still welcomes tourists visiting on a valid visa or permitted travel document from most countries in the world. However, you must have a valid B1/B-2 visa, or if you are from a visa waiver country, then a valid Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) approval. The Biden Administration also revoked some country-based travel bans from countries such as Iran, Libya, Syria, North Korea, and Yemen, allowing nationals of these countries to once again reapply for visas to the U.S.  If you are from the following countries, you may enter as a tourist, assuming you have a B1/B2 visa or ESTA.  

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cote d’Ivoire, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada (not land-border), Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswantini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. 

If you are a tourist visiting from one of the following countries, you will need to have been present in one of the above countries for the past 14 days in order to be permitted to enter. For instance, if you are a Brazilian national wishing to visit the U.S., you may want to enter Mexico and remain there for 14 days, prior to flying into the U.S., as the land borders between the U.S. and Mexico remain closed to all but essential travel.  The countries out of which you must spend 14 days are:

Brazil, China, Ireland, South Africa, the UK, Germany, Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Additionally, the U.S. Embassies and consulates globally have suspended routine visa services, so you may not be able to get a new tourist visa to enter. The ESTA application form remains available for those able to apply for it – which are those countries written in blue above. And, if you have an existing valid tourist visa or a valid ESTA, with a valid passport, you may still enter under the conditions of your visa or ESTA.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *