Author: Visa Adviser

Here at Visa Adviser® we compile not only visa information, but also the passport requirements for every country in the world.  A passport is generally required for border crossings, with limited exceptions. For instance, citizens of European Union member nations may cross each other’s borders with a national identification card. United States citizens may cross into Canada by land borders with a U.S. birth certificate or a certificate of naturalization. In addition, there are travel documents issued to stateless persons that may be used in lieu of the passports.

However, generally a passport is required to travel to foreign countries, and with it, a minimum period of validity that each country sets for those seeking entry.  Below we have compiled a list of minimum validity period required on your passport based on the destination.

Valid Passport (no validity period required): Armenia, Australia, Barbados, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Burkina Faso, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Gambia, Gibraltar, Jamaica, Libya (no Israeli visa), Mali, Mauritius, Mexico, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Seychelles, United Kingdom.

Valid 45 days: Bermuda

30 days after date of return: South Africa

Valid 60 days beyond date of return: Turkey

Valid for at least three months: Lebanon, Panama, Serbia, Swaziland, Uzbekistan

Valid three months from date of return: Aland Islands, Albania, Andorra, Aruba, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, French Guiana, French Polynesia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niger, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion, Romania, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, San Marino, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden , Switzerland, Ukraine, Vatican City, Wallis and Futuna.

Valid 120 days from date of arrival: Micronesia 

Valid at least six months: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, China, Comoros, Congo , Cote D’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominican Republic , Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Honduras, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Laos, Liberia, Macao, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somalia, South Korea, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Uganda, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Valid six months from date of arrival: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Brunei, 

Central African Republic, Chad, Costa Rica, East Timor, Eritrea, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jordan, Kiribati, Madagascar, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu.

Valid at least six months from date of return: Belize, Colombia, Cook Islands, Ecuador, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Ireland, Lesotho, Malawi, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands.

Valid for one year after date of visit: Israel

While the requirement spread appears vast – from having a valid passport, to one valid for at least one year – the traveler should check with the airline for its requirements. Airlines typically have a requirement of at least six months in order to board.   

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *