Which countries don’t require visas?

Author: Visa-Adviser

At Visa Adviser, we have been asked for a list of countries anyone can enter without a visa, and here it is:

Antarctica. Antarctica is the home of the penguins, with no permanent population.  Antarctica is the southernmost continent containing the South Pole, and is surrounded by the Southern Ocean. Antarctica is the fifth largest continent and is not a sovereign state, although it is governed by the Antarctic Treaty of 1959. Today, 49 countries have signed on to the Treaty, which is intended to protect the pristine state of Antarctica. There are no current requirements for visas to Antarctica.  For additional information about visiting Antarctica, Visa Adviser recommends that travelers visit the Department of State’s Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs website at:  http://www.state.gov/e/oes/ocns/opa/

Cook Islands. Named after the British explorer, Captain James Cook, Cook Islands is a 15-island nation located in the South Pacific, northeast of New Zealand. It is in free association with New Zealand, which confers New Zealand citizenship on its citizens and benefits from New Zealand military protection. Its political system is Constitutional Monarchy. Cook Islands has an estimated population of 17,426 (2018 est. www.worldometers.info). All bona fide visitors may get a visa upon arrival for 31 days in the Cook Islands.

Dominica. Officially the Commonwealth of Dominica, it was named by Christopher
Columbus for the day he first saw the island, Sunday. Dominica is an island in the
Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean, between Guadeloupe and Martinique. Having gained
independence from Britain in 1978, its current political system is Unitary Parliamentary
Republic, with an elected president. Any in-transit passenger or bona fide tourist who is
in possession of a return ticket and satisfies the Immigration Officer that he/she does
not intend to remain in the State for a period exceeding 21 days.

Liechtenstein. Officially the Principality of Liechtenstein, it is a European country bordering Switzerland and Austria, and has the highest gross domestic product per person in the world by some estimates. It is not a member of the Europe Union, and is a Unitary Parliamentary Constitutional Democracy. Its estimated population is 37,810 (2017 est. World Bank), making it one of the smallest nations in Europe. Liechtenstein does not issue its own visas. As there are no border controls between Liechtenstein and Switzerland, the traveler will need to be able to enter legally through Switzerland to get to Liechtenstein.

Maldives. Officially the Republic of the Maldives, it is an island country made up to 26 islands in the Indian Ocean, southwest of India and Sri Lanka. Having gained independence in 1965 from the United Kingdom, its current political system is Unitary Presidential Constitutional Republic. To enter Maldives no pre-arrival visa is required. A thirty-day free visa is issued on arrival for all nationalities; provided that the traveler has the following: a valid passport with Machine Readable Zone (MRZ); the passport should have at least 6 months validity; a valid ticket to continue the journey out of Maldives; and enough funds to cover his or her expenses for duration of the stay in Maldives.

Micronesia. Officially The Federated States of Micronesia, it consists of 607 islands in four states located in western portion of Pacific Ocean. Micronesia neighbors Guam, the Marshall Islands, Australia, Palau, Hawaii, New Guinea, Nauru, and the Philippines. Its current political system is a Federated Presidential Democratic Republic.  For all nationalities to enter Micronesia, a valid passport, sufficient funds and proof of onward travel are sufficient to grant entry for 30 days.

Monaco. The Principality of Monaco is a city state located on the French Riviera bordering France and the Mediterranean Sea. With a coast line of 2.5 miles, it is one of the most densely populated countries in the world. Its political system is a Constitutional Monarchy with Prince Albert II as the monarch. There is no border control between France and Monaco. You may access Monaco visa-free through France, but you will need to meet the requirements for France.

Pitcairn. Officially named the Pitcairn Group of Islands (Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno) are a British overseas territory located in the south pacific. Pitcairn is the least populous national territory in the world, according to City Population census. Pitcairn has a population of about 54 (2016 est. CIA). Its political system is Constitutional Monarchy. People of all nationalities may visit Pitcairn visa free for up to 14 days.

Seychelles. Officially the Republic of Seychelles, it is an island nation made up of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean, north of Madagascar and East of Africa. A former United Kingdom colony, Seychelles gained independence in 1976, and is currently a Unitary Representative Presidential Republic. Irrespective of the nationality of the visitor, they may enter visa free up to 30 days.  They will need to have a valid passport, onward ticket, proof of accommodation, and sufficient funds for the stay.

Tuvalu. Formerly the Ellice Islands, Tuvalu is an island nation located in the Pacific Ocean made up of three reef islands and six atolls neighboring Kiribati, Samoa, Fiji, and Nauru. Tuvalu is the third least populated country in the world. After gaining independence from the United Kingdom in 1978, it became a Commonwealth nation under a Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy. Visas are not required by any other nationals for stays in Tuvalu of up to 30 days. 

Honorable mention: Svalbard. Svalbard is part of the Kingdom of Norway. It is an archipelago between 74 and 81 degrees north and 10 and 35 degrees east between the Arctic Ocean, Barents Sea, Greenland Sea, and Norwegian Sea, north of Norway. Svalbard has the northernmost permanent settlements in the world. Spitsbergen is the biggest island in Svalbard, and Longyearbyen is the biggest settlement. Svalbard is outside the Schengen Area. A visa not required for any national visit, study, work or live in Svalbard. One must be able to secure work and housing in order to remain.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *