What does Brexit mean for Americans entering the United Kingdom and remaining European Union countries?

Author: Visa-Adviser

Brexit is a term used to describe the uncoupling between the United Kingdom and the rest of the E.U. The E.U. is a group of countries situated in western Europe, and they include: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom. These countries share a common border policy that allows citizens of any EU country to live and work freely in the other member countries. The UK extends similar open border polices to Andorra, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland, even though these countries are not a part of the E.U.

image from rawpixel.com

Currently there is no change on the visa requirement for U.S. citizens entering the E.U. U.S. Citizens may enter visa-free and remain in the U.K. and Northern Ireland for up to six months. They may enter visa-free and remain in the rest of the European Union (EU) countries for 90 days in a period of six months. Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland are not a part of the E.U., but they maintain similar common border policies with the E.U., which means that U.S. citizens may also enter visa-free into these countries for the same 90-day period.

If you are a U.S. legal resident or non-immigrant living in the U.S., the same requirements apply to you for getting a visa as before. If a U.S. legal resident is visiting the U.K. and France, and based on their nationality (say Pakistan), needed a visa to enter both places, then he or she must file for a U.K. visa for the U.K. (which also allows for entry into Ireland under certain circumstances), and a separate Schengen visa for France and the rest of the E.U. That Schengen visa will also allow him or her entry into Andorra, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland, even though these are not EU countries.

Who is affected are those persons living in the U.K. from other E.U. countries and vice versa. They are given a grace period to apply to continue to live their lives as they do now. However, an extra step must be taken, either for U.K. nationals living in the E.U. or vice versa.

Brexit should not affect the UK’s currently visa policy for other third country nationals entering the UK based on current guidelines. Other nationalities and territories that may continue to enter the UK for short visits, visa free, includes: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Dominica, East Timor, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Qatar, Reunion, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, The Bahamas, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, and Vatican City.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *